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DISCLAIMER: Answers provided to the following questions are
meant only to give general guidance. The answers do not and are
not meant to replace statutory language.

If you have a question regarding the Firearm Owner's Identification
Card or the Firearm Concealed Carry Act that is not addressed in
these sections, please call (217) 782-7980.

Assistance to the Public
Steps to Application Process

Business and Property Owners
Where can business owners obtain
information about required signage?
Can a business owner post a sign larger
than 4 inches by 6 inches?
If a business does not prohibit concealed
carry and there is a firearms related
incident on its property, is the business
liable for the incident?
I am a business owner; however, I rent
the real property used to conduct my
business. Does the authority rest with the
property owner or me to allow/prohibit
concealed firearms in my business?
Can a business allow customers to carry
concealed, yet prohibit employees from
doing it?
Can a business prohibit a weapon from
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lot?
Can a state agency prohibit concealed
carry for all of its buildings or are there
any limitations it has to worry about?
Can a state agency develop policies that
say employees leave them at home or put
the weapon in the trunk before coming
onto the grounds? Or does the state
agency have to accept employees putting
the weapon in the trunk before entering
the building?

Concealed Carry License Applicant
What is the cost for an Illinois Concealed
Carry License?
How does a citizen apply for an Illinois
Concealed Carry License?
How long will it take a citizen to obtain an
Illinois Concealed Carry License?
Where can I go to be fingerprinted?
The Act requires applicants to submit a
photo taken within the past 30 days, will
the photo taken as part of the Fee
Application for applicants who submit
electronic fingerprints satisfy this
requirement?
What are the qualifications for an Illinois
Concealed Carry License?
What type of firearm will I be allowed to
carry concealed?
Are there any publicly available computers
I can use to apply for a Concealed Carry
License?
My application was denied based upon a
decision of the Concealed Carry Licensing
Review Board to sustain a law
enforcement objection filed regarding my
application. Can I challenge the decision
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My application was denied by the Director
of the ISP other than for reasons related
to my FOID Card eligibility. Can I appeal
the decision to deny my FCCL application?
What should my appeal include?
Can I appeal in person at the Firearm
Services Bureau office?
My application was denied because I am
ineligible for a FOID Card. Can I appeal
the decision to deny or revoke my FOID
Card?
What if the reason my application was
denied is that my training certificate is
invalid?
What if I cannot schedule new training
within 60 days of receipt of the notice that
my application was denied?
Can I get credit for any of the hours from
my previous training certificate that has
been determined to be invalid?
How do I get a refund for the training
costs for the certificate that has been
deemed invalid?
What if my application was denied by the
CCLRB?
Can I FOIA or otherwise request a copy of
any objections filed with the CCLRB
regarding my application?
How long do I have to petition the Court
to appeal a denial by the CCLRB?
Can out-of-state residents obtain an
Illinois Concealed Carry License?
What does "substantially similar" mean?
"Substantially Similar" means the
comparable state regulates who may carry
firearms, concealed or otherwise, in
public; prohibits all who have involuntary
mental health admissions, and those with
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years, from carrying firearms, concealed
or otherwise, in public; reports denied
persons to NICS; and participates in
reporting persons authorized to carry
firearms, concealed or otherwise, in public
through Nlets.

How can I find out if my state's laws are
considered "substantially similar?"
The Illinois State Police sent a survey to
each state to determine which of them
has laws that are substantially similar.
Click here to find out how your state
responded and if your state's laws have
been determined to be substantially
similar. Currently, the only states
considered to be substantially similar are
Hawaii, New Mexico, South Carolina
and Virginia.

Note: Not all states have responded to the
survey.

Curriculum
If a business or one or more Instructors
are teaching from the same curriculum,
are all instructors using the curriculum
required to submit it to the ISP for
approval?
Will instructors have to retain the B27
qualifying target or a digital copy for
purposes of retaining a record of each
student's performance for 5 years?
Are there any naming convention
requirements for curriculum approval?
What is public storage?
When will ISP begin posting a list of
approved curriculum on its website?
Once the curriculum is listed as approved,
must it be taught by an approved
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credit for the training?

Enforcement
How will Illinois State Police (ISP) officers
and local law enforcement respond to
citizens who are carrying weapons?
Who needs an Illinois Concealed Carry
License?
Will Illinois Concealed Carry License
holders have reciprocity in other states?
Will persons be allowed to open carry?
What is the parking lot exemption for CCL
holders in prohibited places?

Instructor Applicant
How can I register as a Concealed Carry
Firearms Instructor?
Why do Instructor Applicants have to pay
a fee of $31.50 for the fingerprint based
background check?
Where can I go to be fingerprinted?
Can I go to a police department to be
fingerprinted?
I had my fingerprints taken for a previous
job, can I use the same TCN for my
Concealed Carry application?
Does my Concealed Carry firearms
instructor application need to be
notarized?
On the instructor application, it asks for
my business name, why?
On the instructor application it asks for
my e-mail address, can I use a web
address instead?
On the instructor application, it asks for
the date I became certified, why? And,
what do I put if I do not know?
Can anyone who has taken any class
become an instructor?

Privacy | Terms and Conditions | Contact Us

www.isp.state.il.us 245

IL Concealed Carry License https://www.ispfsb.com/Public/Faq.aspx

5 of 7 12/8/2015 2:44 PM



Concealed Carry Firearms Instructor?
Can out of state residents become a
Concealed Carry Firearms Instructor?
Upon submitting, how do I know ISP
received my application and how will I be
informed whether I have been approved?
When will ISP begin posting a registry of
approved instructors on its website?
Are individuals with physical disabilities
eligible to apply for and receive concealed
carry licenses?

Statistics
What were the Concealed Carry statistics
for 2014?

Training
Where can citizens obtain firearms
training?
What does the firearms training course
consist of?
Is anyone exempt from the training
requirements in the Act?
Who can get credit for up to 8 hours of
prior training (from either previous
courses or experience)?
What information/documentation will
current military personnel or veterans
need to provide to receive credit for 8
hours of training?
Who decides whether to give credit for
prior training and how much to give?
If a person receives prior training credit,
what are they required to take in addition
to fulfill the 16 hour training requirement
under the Act?
Will the Department of Natural Resources'
hunter safety classes be approved
training?
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from one instructor and additional hours
from another instructor?
Is everyone required to go through
exactly the same (or a cookie cutter)
program or do the instructors have any
discretion to teach based upon skill level?
What date should I put on the student
certificate for date of expiration?
Why are time lines established in the ISP
rules regarding the training required?
Do applicants have to own their own
equipment before they can take a training
class?
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